Sunday, 10 April 2016

Coalville Wheelers Men's Road Race

It's grim up North. 

Of course, North is relative. Specifically, to where you happen to be standing at the time you say this, but such statements must be considered. Neil from North Yorkshire considers Derbyshire folk to be Midlanders. Sheffield just about passes as North for him. Chris from Edgware considers Hemel Hempstead as North.

no pics from this race so here's an archive shot
If you were looking to to name somewhere Northern-sounding and onomatopoeic, it would surely be Coalville.

It is however only 1hr 11 minutes away from Milton Keynes by road. Which probably explains why Richard Wood nipped up there for a race this morning. For him, Watford Gap is the definitive divider, so Coalville is North, although not especially grim.

You may be guessing from this preamble that there is not a huge amount to report from this fixture. Well, Richard had modest expectations. After all, he's done a few hilly TTs this year but sailing straight into an E12 race generally requires a bit of reassessment of what 'hard' means.

He got stuck straight in with the early break which stayed away for all but 2 laps. Still readjusting, he joined the express train counter move and hung on to the finish to take 13th place. A  pretty impressive 1st race back for our top ranked rider. Close behind a certain John Tanner...

Result – Coalville Wheelers Men’s RR
1 Joseph Clark Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
2 Jake Tanner Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
3 Alex Richardson pedal heaven excel academy
4 Ross Lamb Godfrey Bikewear Race Team
5 Roy Chamberlin Team Corley Cycles
6 David Shacketon Wilsons Wheels Race Team
7 Richard Hepworth Raleigh
8 Steve Young Giant Store Rutland / Wattbike
9 John Tanner uattached/Private member
10 Lea Baldwin Champion System VCUK Racing Team
11 Russell Holder Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team
12 Josh Housley Team PB Performance
13 Richard Wood TMG Horizon Cycling Team
14 Jonathan Fowles Champion System VCUK Racing Team
15 Greig Burt Beeston Cycling Club
16 Douglas Coleman CC Luton
17 Archie Cross University of Sheffield CC
18 Michael Burke Welland Valley CC
19 Ollie Taylor Wellingborough Cycles Race Team
20 Andrew Magnier Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT

No comments:

Post a Comment